Brunswick County voters will go to the polls this Tuesday, November 5, to cast ballots for races that will decide local municipal elections and members of the Dosher Hospital Board of Trustees and Southeast Brunswick Sanitary District Board of Commissioners.

Voters can cast ballots early during one-stop absentee voting until Friday, November 1, at the Brunswick County Board of Elections Office at the Brunswick County Government Center, Building H, near Bolivia. There are no other early voting sites available for this election. Hours there are 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.

If you are voting on Election Day, polls are open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Voters will go to their normal election precinct to cast ballots.

Ballots in two races list candidates who withdrew but too late to remove their names from the ballot: Robert Tucker is no longer a candidate for Southport Board of Aldermen; and Claude Pope is no longer a candidate for Bald Head Island Village Council.

However, votes they receive will still count for them and are not transferable. Those candidates could still be declared winners if they get the most votes.

Local voting precincts

Voters cast ballots at the following precinct locations:

• Southport 1 – The Brunswick Center, 1513 N. Howe Street, Southport. Southport 1 precinct includes areas east and north of Howe Street (N.C. 211) as well as Bald Head Island.

• Southport 2 – Brunswick Community College Southport Center, 705 N. Lord Street, Southport. Southport 2 precinct includes areas west and south of Howe Street (N.C. 211), communities along Long Beach Road, Arbor Creek and a portion of St. James voters.

• Mosquito 2 – St. James Community Center, 4136 Southport-Supply Road, St. James. Mosquito 2 encompasses the majority of St. James.

• Boiling Spring Lakes – Boiling Spring Lakes precinct includes Boiling Spring Lakes and areas east of N.C. 87. The polling location is the Boiling Spring Lakes Community Center at 1 Leeds Road, Boiling Spring Lakes.

• Oak Island 1 – Oak Island 1 precinct includes Caswell Beach and the former Yaupon Beach area. Voters will cast their ballots at Ocean View United Methodist Church, 8400 East Oak Island Drive, Oak Island.

• Oak Island 2 – Oak Island 2 precinct includes residents from 79th Street to 20th Street East. The polling place is the Oak Island Recreation Center, 3003 East Oak Island Drive, Oak Island.

• Oak Island 3 – Oak Island 3 precinct includes the area west of 20th Street East. The polling place is the Oak Island Elks Lodge at 106 East Dolphin Drive, Oak Island.

Voter questions

On Election Day, vote in your assigned precinct to ensure you receive a ballot that contains all races for which you are eligible. If you do not go to your correct precinct, you will have to vote on a provisional ballot. It is recommended that voters check where they should go vote prior to Election Day by looking up their voter record.

Voters can call the Board of Elections office at 910-253-2620 if they have questions about their voter registration or for precinct information, or send an email to Voters can also visit the website at for more information.


Southport voters will elect a mayor and three aldermen.

Incumbent Mayor Jerry Dove is challenged by Dr. Joe Pat Hatem.

Dove’s seat is open for a two-year term. Voters will also fill two Ward 2 aldermen seats and one Ward 1 alderman seat for four-year terms.

In Ward 1, incumbent Robert Tucker withdrew from the race but too late to remove his name from the ballot. David Miller and Tom Lombardi are running for the seat.

In Ward 2, Jim Powell and Rick Pukenas are seeking re-election. They face challengers Nelson Adams, John Allen, Lowe Davis and Eric King.

Seats held by aldermen Marc Spencer, Karen Mosteller and Lora Sharkey are not up for election until 2021. 

Bald Head Island

Village voters will elect three council members. An ordinance approved in 2018 will stagger the terms. It sets the term length for the two top vote-getters in this election at four years while third place will get a two-year term.

Starting with the 2021 election, the mayor and two council members will be elected to four-year terms. In the 2023 election, two council members will receive four-year terms.

Council seats open this fall are those held by Kit Adcock, John May and John Pitera.

Adcock filed for re-election. Other candidates are Joe Brawner, Michael T. Brown, John Fisher, Dan McConnell and Peter Quinn. Claude Pope withdrew from the race but too late to remove his name from the ballot.

Seats held by Mayor Andy Sayre and council member Betsi Stephen are not up for election until 2021.

Boiling Spring Lakes

Voters will elect a mayor and two commissioners.

Mayor Craig Caster’s seat is open for a two-year term. Two commissioner seats open are held by Dana Witt and Mark Stewart. They are four-year terms.

Caster, Tim Fullmer and Eric Maynes have filed for mayor.

Dana Witt has filed for re-election. Other candidates are Phil Casper, Tom Guzulaitis, Tegan Perry Hall and Ernie Siriani

Seats held by commissioners Guy Auger and Steven Barger are not up for election until 2021.

Caswell Beach

Voters in Caswell Beach will elect a mayor and three town commissioners, all to four-year terms. Seats held by Mayor Deborah Ahlers and commissioners Lucian (Skip) Jones, Martyn Clarke and Dan O’Neill are open.

Ahlers, Clarke and Ken Hudson are running unopposed.

Seats held by commissioners Marti Hardy and George Kassler are not up for election until 2021.

Oak Island

Voters will elect a mayor to a two-year term and three town councilors to four-year terms. Starting with the 2021 election, the mayor’s term will switch to four years.

Ken Thomas is challenging incumbent Cin Brochure for mayor.

Councilor seats open this fall are held by Sheila Mansfield Bell, Charlie Blalock and Jeff Winecoff.

Winecoff, Bell and Blalock have filed for re-election. Also running are Mike Defeo, Dara Royal and Niki Cutler.

Seats held by councilors John Bach and Loman Scott are not up for election until 2021.

St. James

Two councilor seats are up for election this fall, both to four-year terms. The mayor is not elected by the voters but by the council from among its membership at the first organizational meeting after the election and will serve a two-year term.

Jean Toner now serves as mayor and that council seat is open, along with the council seat held by Don Lund. Toner and Jean Dutney have filed for council and face no opposition.

Seats held by council members David DeLong, Wayne Deutscher and Jeff Mount are not up for election until 2021.

Southeast Brunswick Sanitary District

Voters will elect two commissioners to four-year terms in the Southeast Brunswick Sanitary District. Seats held by Gordon Corlew and Peter Goewey are open. Both have filed for re-election

Three commissioners seats won’t be open until 2021. They are held by Robert (Bob) Smith, Fran Pagliaro and Bob Lloyd.

Dosher Hospital Trustees

Voters will elect four members to the Dosher Hospital Board of Trustees.

Seats open are held by trustees Robert Howard, Debbie Wood, Sherri Marshall and Linda Pukenas.

Pukenas is unopposed for her seat. It will be up for election again in 2021.

Four are running for the other three seats. Wood and Howard are seeking re-election and face Joe Agovino and Jwantana Frink for six-year terms.